Difference Between mach and Stroke Play

in Golf

mach is a scoring system for golf in which a player, or team, earns a point for each hole in which they have bested their opponents; this is as opposed to stroke play, in which the total number of strokes is counted over one or more rounds of 18 holes. In professional golf, a small number of notable tournaments use the mach scoring system. Playing golf games need to be aware of the differences in the rules between mach and stroke play. Some of the differences are major, some are minor and some involve a different type of penalty when rules are broken. There are some huge differences in the rules of golf for mach and Stroke play.

First is the way it's played. mach is a whole different game than stroke play. In stroke play, golfers accumulate strokes over the course of 18 holes. The golfer with the fewest strokes at the completion of the round wins. In mach, each hole is a separate competition. The player with the fewest strokes on an individual hole wins that hole; the player winning the most holes wins the match. The stroke total for 18 holes simply doesn't matter in mach. Stroke play is more a player vs. the course approach; mach is directly player vs. player, or side vs. side. There is one opponent you must beat, and that's the opponent you're facing in the match you're playing right now.

Secondly, there are more on scorekeeping in mach. In friendly rounds of golf, golfers often ask for and give "gimmies," very short putts that one simply picks up rather than holing out. Gimmies, needless to say, are illegal under the Rules of Golf, but many recreational golfers use them anyway. In mach, however, conceded putts are perfectly legal. Your opponent can concede a putt to you at any point, whether it's six inches from the cup or 60 feet. But conceded putts almost always come, of course, on very short putts. Conceded putts should only be offered, they should never be requested. That's why in some mach matches you'll notice a golfer lingering over a very short putt - the golfer is hoping his opponent will tell him to just pick it up.

In stroke play, the golfers you are playing against are your "fellow-competitors." In mach, the golfer you are playing against is your "opponent." There are several scenarios in mach where a transgression might result in your opponent canceling your shot and requiring you to replay it; whereas in stroke play, the same transgression would result in a 2-stroke penalty or no penalty at all. In stroke play, order of play is a matter of etiquette. If you hit out of turn, it's a breach of etiquette, but there is no penalty. In mach, if you hit out of turn your opponent can require you to replay the shot in the proper order. And if your first shot was a great one, you can bet that you'll be replaying. If you hit from outside the teeing ground, in stroke play, teeing off from outside the teeing ground, the teeing ground is between the tee markers and up to two club lengths behind the tee markers results in a 2-stroke penalty. In mach, there is no stroke penalty, but your opponent can cancel your shot and require you to replay it. In stroke play, if your ball hits a fellow-competitor or his equipment, it's rub of the green. In mach, you have the option to replay the shot. Hitting a ball at rest on the green in stroke play, if your putt strikes another ball on the green, you get a 2-stroke penalty. In mach, there is no penalty.

In the rule book, just about every section concludes with a warning: "Penalty for Breach of Rule." If a golfer fails to follow the proper procedures set forth in the rules, he will incur a penalty in addition to any penalties set forth in that rule. That penalty in stroke play is usually 2 strokes, and in mach is usually loss of hole. Let's say a player violates one of the tenets of Rule 19. There will likely be a penalty spelled out for that violation. But the golfer compounds his error by failing to follow the proper procedure for continuing play maybe he doesn't assess himself the proper penalty; maybe he drops incorrectly, spelled out in that rule. The big penalty kicks in: 2 strokes in stroke play, loss of hole in mach. In stroke play, disqualification is the result if you miss your tee time. In mach, you can show up late and still play ... as long as you make your match by at least the second tee. You'll have forfeited the first hole, but you can pick up the match on No. 2. If you fail to make it by the No. 2 tee, you're disqualified.

The differences between mach and stroke play, where they exist, are elucidated in the Rules of Golf. If there is a difference, that difference will be spelled out in the applicable section. So browse through the rule book to learn more about mach rules.

Author Box
lovegolf has articles online

lovegolf helps the golfers improve the game by giving them some great golf tips. Check out www.newbrandgolf.com for a full service resort which will allow you to enjoy all kinds of golf clubs at home. And you can also get more detail information about the cheap and high quality TaylorMade Burner Superfast 2.0 Driver   TaylorMade Burner SuperFast TP Driver

Add New Comment

Difference Between mach and Stroke Play

Log in or Create Account to post a comment.
     
*
*
Security Code: Captcha Image Change Image
This article was published on 2012/05/27